Sean McCabe debut album ‘It’s Time’ – Out Now on Z Records


Sean McCabe’s debut album ‘It’s Time’ is now available now from the Z SHOP

Out officially in all other shops from 27 October 2014.

This lush and musical 17-track affair is Sean’s first big solo project and it has been in the works for almost three years. Written mostly in his Bristol studio, the LP features a wealth of international collaborations – Jennifer Wallace, Diane Charlemagne, Renn – and has been made primarily on real hardware such as the Fender Rhodes, SH-09, Juno 106, Poly 61, JV-1010, EMU Vintage Keys and the Moog Slim Phatty.

Sean who has been producing since his teens and includes fine labels like US garage staple King Street Sounds, Defected, Strictly Rhythm and Local Talk in his discography says of the album: “It was important for me to get it perfected to my original vision, and to keep that vision throughout was difficult. I’ve literally drawn inspiration from everything that’s influenced me as producer and writer over the years. I always wanted to create something that demonstrates all my tastes in soulful dance music which can be influenced by so many sub genres like Hip Hop, Disco, Jazz, Soul, Deep House, US garage etc. The NuYorican Soul album has always been a benchmark for me in terms of a perfectly constructed album and is something I never get tired of listening to.”

Those influences shine though in this fantastically musical and deeply considered album: it bares all the hallmarks of a proper full length that has been built from the ground up with fantastic arrangements, catchy vocals and real song structures.

The production values are sky high on this album, and though it might have been a long time in the making, it was worth it, because it categorically proves that now really is Sean McCabe’s time.

Buy now


1. All of The Above (feat Big Ed)
2. Everything’s Alright (feat Erik Dillard)
3. Something About You (feat Jennifer Wallace)
4. Holding On
5. Who’s Foolin Who (feat Diane Charlamagne)
6. Love For Life (feat Renn)
7. Want Me
8. Tomorrow’s Another Day (feat Donae’o)
9. Sunday Lazin’
10. Finally (feat Taliwa)
11. Somethin’ For Nothin’ (feat Big Ed & Diane Charlamagne)
12. Found My Way
13. Reach Out (feat Hannah Khemoh)
14. Embrace You (feat Migosy)
15. Back To Front (feat Nathan Adams)
16. Gotta Believe (feat Sabrina Chyld)
17. Last Expression


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s